Fats: Good fats vs bad fats.

Good Fats Vs Bad Fats

Hi readers,

What are fats?

Fats are an important part of our diet. Fats are essential for providing energy to our body. The primary function of fat is to be an energy reservoir. 1 gram of fat contains 9 calories, which is more than the double amount of calories from carbohydrates and proteins. Fats are as crucial as protein and carbohydrates. Fats are important for blood coagulation, muscle movement, and inflammatory response. Some vitamins need fats to dissolve into the bloodstream and provide nutrients. Fats are necessary to build the cell membrane.

There are two types of fats:

  1. Good fats.
  2. Bad fats.

Excessive amounts of both bad fats or good fats cause problems for human health.

Bad fats:

Fats are often vilified for leading to many conditions that are harmful to our health, leading to obesity to cancer, heart disease to osteoarthritis. Bad fats are ones that include industrial made trans fats. Saturated fats fall somewhere in the bad fats category. Bad fats are solid at room temperature. They are harmful to health and increases heart disease risks.

Trans fats:

Trans fats are the most unhealthy and harmful fats. Trans fats should be avoided as it increases LDL cholesterol level in blood and causes diabetes, heart disease, and stroke. Foods that contain trans fats are:
  1. Fried foods (deep-fried fast foods).
  2. Baked foods(cookies, cakes, pastries).
  3. Processed snack foods( microwave popcorn).

Saturated fats:

Saturated fats are also not considered healthy but they are less harmful than trans fats. Saturated fats should be consumed very sparingly. Most saturated fats are animal fats. They are found in high-fat meats and dairy products. Saturated fats also increase the LDL cholesterol level and lead to heart disease risks.

Food that contains saturated fats are:

  1. Pork, beef, and lamb.
  2. Dark chicken meat and poultry skin.
  3. Whole milk, butter, cheese, sour cream, ice cream.
  4. Coconut oil, palm oil, cocoa butter.

Good fats: 

Good fats are essential fats for our body function. Goods fats include monounsaturated fats and polyunsaturated fats. Doctors considered monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats as healthy fats or good fats. They are liquid at room temperature.

Monounsaturated fats: 

Monounsaturated fats include vegetable oils, it improves blood cholesterol and disease risks of cardiovascular disease. Food that contains monounsaturated fats are:
  1. Nuts(almonds, cashew, peanuts).
  2. Vegetable oils(olive oil and peanut oil).
  3. Peanut butter and almond butter.
  4. Avocado.

Polyunsaturated fats:

Polyunsaturated fats are essential good fats because the body cannot make them and need them from food. The primary source of polyunsaturated fats is plant-based food and oil. It decreases heart risks. Omega 3 fatty acids and omega 3s are examples of polyunsaturated fats. Omega 3 fatty acids are seen to be beneficial for the heart. Fish that contains omega 3 fatty acids are:
  1. Salmon.
  2. Herring.
  3. Sardines.
  4. Trout.
Omega 3s decreases heart disease and lowers blood pressure. Food that contains omega 3s are:
  1. Walnuts.
  2. Canola oil.
  3. Flax seeds.
Monounsaturated fats and polyunsaturated fats are good fats but they should be consumed in a moderate amount because all fats are high in calories. Moderate consumption of good fats will help you lead a healthy life.

Hope you like this article.
Do share it with your friends and family.
Thank you.

Post a Comment